
The figure or the record
Omdia publishes market totals for the microdrama and vertical-video sector, including a claim that global revenue reached $11 billion in 2025 and would reach $14 billion in 2026, stated in a press release dated 23 February 2026. Omdia's own homepage, retrieved 16 September 2026, describes the firm as covering '4,000+ Deliverables annually' from '80,000+ Respondents annually' and '200m+ Data points', gathered by '350+ Analysts and consultants'. Neither page sets out how a single market total such as $11 billion is assembled from measured sales, survey responses and analyst judgement.
What the documents establish
The press release establishes the headline figures and labels the 2026 number a projection rather than a delivered result. The homepage establishes the scale of coverage, respondents, data points, deliverables, but on its own wording gives minimal detail about forecast construction; it does not state how primary research, company tracking and analyst judgement combine into one number. A third document, Sensor Tower's short-drama report, gives a directly measured contrast: roughly $750 million in in-app-purchase revenue across short-drama apps in the first quarter of 2026 alone, a store-based figure with a stated scope. Placed next to Omdia's global total, the two numbers show the difference between a modelled market estimate spanning many revenue lines and a measured storefront figure spanning one.
Scope and caveats
Omdia's $11 billion and $14 billion figures plausibly cover a wider revenue base than any single storefront metric, including advertising, licensing and web-payment revenue that a store-measured in-app-purchase figure excludes by definition, but the press release does not itemise which revenue lines are included. Omdia's own methodology statement, as retrieved, does not disclose sample weighting, confidence intervals, or how far a given country total is measured versus modelled.
What to watch
An editorial marker worth tracking: whether a later Omdia release breaks its total into components, or continues to publish it as a single figure. A firm that names its inputs but not their weighting invites a reader to treat the total as directional rather than precise.
- Does the release state which revenue lines, in-app purchases, advertising, licensing, are included in the total?
- Is the figure for the reported year described as delivered, or is it a projection for a year not yet complete?
- Can any component of the total be cross-checked against a store-measured or filed figure?
A modelled total and a measured total answer different questions, and a chart that shows only the total obscures which one it is.
Sources & reading trail
States Omdia's scale of coverage without detailing how a market total is modelled.
Source published: Not established · Retrieved: 16 September 2026
States the modelled $11 billion 2025 and projected $14 billion 2026 global revenue figures.
Source published: 23 February 2026 · Retrieved: 16 September 2026
Gives a measured quarterly in-app-purchase figure as a contrast to Omdia's modelled annual total.
Source published: Not established · Retrieved: 16 September 2026
Filings, releases and official documents establish the record; the scope reading and the questions are Vertical Ledger editorial analysis. This retrospective draft does not imply the site published on the event date.